Friday Oil & Gas Bill Hearing & Monday Boise Protest/Carpools


Please take urgent action on these two significant Idaho oil and gas resistance events.  Thanks to Citizens Allied for Integrity and Accountability (CAIA) of Fruitland, Idaho, for organizing and sharing news about them!  Contact CAIA with your questions and suggestions at info@integrityandaccountability.org, IntegrityAndAccountability.org, or 208-963-5707.

Friday: Oppose Idaho Senate Bill 1339

The first oil and gas bill of the 2016 session is printed and scheduled to be heard on Friday, February 19, at 1:30 pm MST, first on the day’s agenda of the Idaho Senate Resources and Environment Committee [1, 2].  Attorney Kate Haas of the law firm Kestrel West, representing the primary Idaho oil and gas development company, Alta Mesa, will present Senate Bill 1339 (S1339) in Room WW55 of the Idaho Capitol in Boise [3].  Please participate in this hearing by attending in support of bill opponents, submitting your written comments in advance or in person, and/or speaking against S1339 for up to three minutes.  Contact Committee members by phone or email before the hearing.

Call 208-332-1323 and/or email sres@senate.idaho.gov, to extend your comments to all of the committee members together, or write to each and all of them at their individual addresses: Steve Bair <sbair@senate.idaho.gov>, Clifford Bayer <cbayer@senate.idaho.gov>, Marv Hagedorn <mhagedorn@senate.idaho.gov>, Lee Heider <lheider@senate.idaho.gov>, Roy Lacey <rlacey@senate.idaho.gov>, Sherry Nuxoll <snuxoll@senate.idaho.gov>, Jeff Siddoway <jsiddoway@senate.idaho.gov>, Michelle Stennett <mstennett@senate.idaho.gov>, Steve Vick <sjvick@senate.idaho.gov>.

S1339 would expedite all Idaho oil and gas development applications and further exclude Idahoans from crucial public input, as described in the following and attached, useful, talking points.  As an emergency bill, effective with Governor Otter’s signature, S1339 would essentially and immediately strip all due public process from oil and gas permitting in Idaho, risking the integrity of Idaho law and private and public property rights.  Compounding ongoing oil and gas industry degradation of the health and safety of Idahoans and their environment, this legislation, if passed over strong citizen objections, would: Continue reading